Richy Rich Scrambled Eggs

June 18, 2012

I always make eggs at the weekend, during the week all I eat is weetabix and berries so eggs and toast with proper coffee is my weekend ritual and I adore it.

The favourite is always the classic poached eggs (I am obsessive about the perfect poached egg) and always with Burford Browns – I will use my whole lunchtime to trek 45 minutes to get this, and I cannot go back to normal eggs and bacon from our local butcher which also rules.

Then I saw this recipe on Cup of Jo and decided to try something new…

You need;
for the mushrooms:
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 cup mushrooms, I used chestnut, use the earthiest you can get
1 garlic clove, finely chopped
Salt and pepper to taste
for the eggs:
4 large eggs
2 tablespoons half fat crème fraiche
1 teaspoon olive oil
salt and pepper to taste
handful of chives, finely chopped

In a large pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat and cook the mushrooms, with the garlic, until the mushrooms are just beginning to soften. Don’t burn the garlic!

At the same time… scramble your eggs and mix in the crème fraiche and season with salt and pepper. In a smaller non-stick pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat, add the scrambled eggs and gently stir them with a wooden spoon as they cook. Cook them until they are the consistency you like then add the chives and serve over toast with the mushrooms on top.

I called them Richy Rich because they really are, I am so glad I didn’t use full fat crème fraiche. I think it’s partly to do with the amazing Burford Browns though.

One Response to “Richy Rich Scrambled Eggs”


  1. […] up early on Saturday and making a bakery run to Marks Bread to make these eggs was so worth […]


Leave a Reply

