Montpelier Basement

May 14, 2012

Yet another visit to Montpelier Basement run by Elly and Dan

I should really keep this to myself as I have already told you to go here but I thought it would be good to start the week in the UK before I blog through my Australia reccomendations.

I just love the space, with the fire and the mixed up tables of people, it’s a fun evening, always.

We started with crispy chicken skin with tarragon mayonnaise. My husband came with me this time and since he’s not massively into the idea of sitting with randoms I think this is what swayed it (after eating it in Thailand)

It’s not something I was into, even though it was tasty I cannot get down with the texture. Husband loved it though.

Our beautiful candle lit table. I love the cutlery.

We then had a little Wye Valley Asparagus Soup.

The thought of a six course meal might not appeal but Dan and Elly get each portion exactly right, lots of dishes that are slightly smaller than you would think meaning by the end you are indeed stuffed but you can still move. Just.

Then Hake with English tomato salad. This salad was so tasty, I really should ask what they did. One of the stand out bits for me.

This is where I went a little wrong, Elly had tweeted a photograph of a cheese tart she had made that day, and I had gushed about how amazing it looked… she shared the recipe (Simon Hopkinson recipe from this book)

Then she gave me some. It was seriously good but I didn’t account for this in my tummy. But so so good. I have to make this.

Then the main, my favourite kind of meal, Braised Salt Marsh lamb with peas, pea shoots, mash potato and rosemary.

The lamb was amazing, braised until it melted in your mouth, amazingly smooth mashed potato and peas. Peas are my thing. I eat bowls of them on their own with black pepper so this dish made me very happy.

I would say simple and comforting but Dan mentioned how much of a pain the lamb was so not simple to cook maybe!

Then the ice. The ice is always my favourite. Sounds crazy but it’s true. This time it was rhubarb and Gin, it was almost like an alcoholic sorbet. Amazing. I wish the guys would open an ice shop. Near my house.

I ate mine, then finished my husbands (his was a bigger portion, I protested, he shared) and then Elly brought me some more. She is good, she knows how to keep a girl happy, more gin…

So I know I have said that the tomato salad and ice were my favourite, and then I love the main but the dessert was insane. I think I almost am surprised when I like something so light and simple but never when eating meat or chocolate that’s the only way I can explain why I loved those two parts so much. It doesn’t mean I would pick them over this badboy…

Chocolate pudding with creme fraiche and salted caramel crumbs.

Crumbs indeed.

Salted caramel has me obsessed right now, creme fraiche with chocolate is so amazing and the pudding was like a chocolate volcano.

The outer shell was so thin, most of the inside was gooey chocolate amazingness.

Like chocolate lava. Not an original analogy but it works.

Then the rarebit, which is Montpelier Basements signature ending. Amazing as always, and my husbands favourite bit (rarebit is a huge favourite and he never gets to eat it) I need to try and make him something similar. Although I doubt it would ever match up I must try.

Crap. Now I want rarebit for lunch.

So go, I know there is a basement this month but you may have left it too late to book…

 You can book by joining the mailing list, email montpelierbsmt @ gmail and follow them on twitter here

Leave a Reply

