Pan-fried Salmon and Avocado Salsa

March 8, 2012

A little easy recipe for you to try, this might be a few favourite dinner. I can see myself making various versions of this over the next few weeks. I can get obsessed.

It’s something inspired by a photo tweeted by Monica Shaw of her sweet potato and avocado salsa. I loved how colourful it looked so set out to make my own.

You need:
1 large avocado
2 tomatoes
1/4 cucumber
1 large red onion
juice from 2 limes
sea salt and black pepper
1 bunch coriander

Chop it all up and mix together! Delicious, I was eating this from the bowl before it even hit dinner time.

To go with it I just seared some salmon fillets in a pan with some olive oil on both sides for about 5 minutes turning once so the skin got crispy and the top looked nice and brown.

I then finished them off in the oven for another 7-8 minutes.

I also roasted some sweet potato chunks with olive oil and salt and pepper for about 40 minutes.

Another ridiculously simple dinner that is also super healthy. I even have some salsa and sweet potato for my lunch today I might add some smoked mackerel and already that’s one variation that requires no cooking.

3 Responses to “Pan-fried Salmon and Avocado Salsa”


  1. As you say, nice and colourful with ‘healthy’ fats! A good idea for a simple spring dinner

  2. Monica Says:

    I’m just so stoked that you were inspired by my crazy photo to make this – so glad (and relieved!) that it turned out well enough to blog about! It looks beautiful. And I love the idea of serving it with salmon, a fish I don’t cook with nearly enough as I should.


  3. […] Pan-fried salmon and avocado salsa Share this:TwitterFacebookDiggStumbleUponEmailPrintRedditLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Posted by sallylouisetelford Filed in Blog, Bristol, Dinner, Effort – None, Food, Lunch, Supper, Time – Some Tags: BBQ Ideas, Dinner, Lunch, Salad, Warm Prosciutto and Blue Cheese Salad Leave a Comment » […]


Leave a Reply

