Fruity Bruschetta

July 25, 2011

On Saturday night I made such a lovely meal… even if I do say so myself yes.

To be honest the reason I can be so boasty is that I didn’t really do anything I just brought lovely ingredients and left them alone.

We had two recently married, soon to be parents over and our new housemate who is the reason why these photographs are so good. His camera is much better than mine. Thanks Bart!

So for a little nibble with champagne we have grilled peach, buffalo mozzarella and prosciutto and also fig, goats cheese and prosciutto bruschetta.

I just got some really good bread from Marks Bread, and the fruit is from Ashton Fruit Shop and the cheese from Southville Deli (all on North Street in Bedminster) and a store in Frome I visited that day.

I saved money by buying just what I needed of the good stuff, rather than lots of rubbish stuff from the supermarket, I don’t why how I always forget how good the fruit is from this shop.

I brushed the bread with olive oil, seasoned and baked in the oven for 5 minutes then griddled the peaches, just arranged (I use that word loosely) everything else on the bread.

I do realise I keep going on about grilled peaches, they are my new favourite fruit for putting in my dishes. They are especially good hot with the cool mozzarella. Delicious.

4 Responses to “Fruity Bruschetta”

  1. Grazing Kate Says:

    Delicious and I totally agree – how much nicer and more enjoyable to get a smaller amount of really good quality tasty stuff from a local deli rather than a bargain bumper pack of lesser quality stuff from Tesco. The ingredients speak for themselves. I’ve baked peaches but never tried them combined with cheese – thanks for the idea


  2. […] am sorry it has taken me so long to post this after showing you my starter to this great summer entertaining […]


  3. […] go with my simple starter and simple supper, I am treating you to a double post today with an incredibly simple dessert; […]


Leave a Reply

