Pea Pesto

July 12, 2011

I absolutely LOVE peas. I sometime just eat a bowl of cooked peas with a little sea salt and black pepper for a snack. Weird? maybe, delicious… definitely!

So when I saw this recipe for pea pesto over on Smitten Kitchen I had to make it immediately. Mine was a bit rougher though, and I used a lot more peas for fewer people.

You need;
300g fresh peas (with or without pods)
1 small garlic clove, minced
2 tablespoons pine nuts, toasted and cooled
30g finely grated parmesan cheese
1/4 teaspoon table salt, plus more for pasta water
50ml olive oil
enough dried linguine for two people
ripped basil or mint leaves

1. Cook your peas in salted boiling water for 2 minutes… any more and they will be soggy! Deb recommends an ice bath to make sure your peas stop cooking.

2. Put half of your peas to one side and pop the others in a blender, with the garlic, pine nuts, salt and 2/3 of the parmesan and blend until nearly smooth. You might have to keep scraping the excess back in, and add a little more olive oil whenever you need to.

3. Cook your pasta, again I like mine with bite so I cooked mine for 4-5 minutes as I used very good pasta so it needed no more. Save some of the pasta water and use to thin your pesto out a little.

 

4. Stir the pasta into the pesto, then serve into bowls, top with the rest of the peas, lots of black pepper, parmesan and freshly ripped basil, or mint.

We also had some butchers bacon left over from breakfast so I chucked that on top. So tastygood!

4 Responses to “Pea Pesto”

  1. Grazing Kate Says:

    that’s a coincidence as I was reading a Riverford recipe today that was almost identical but used podded broad beans instead – great idea – I was planning to make pea soup this week but this might be the replacement! I love giving fresh peas to my kids to pod as they eat half of them thinking they’re really naughty – yes!


  2. […] Pea pesto – beats the norm any day if you ask me […]

  3. Sally Says:

    So yummy peas are my fave!


  4. I truly enjoy looking at on this website , it has good blog posts.


Leave a Reply

