Real Bread

March 22, 2011

As I mentioned in my post yesterday, we were fortunate enough to be given homemade real bread for our first supper.

I wanted to dedicate a post to this bread, partly because it was so good so to say thank you to John but also to talk about real bread.

A few words from our baker;

This Sourdough has just three added ingredients, organic flour (from Shipton Mill Gloucestershire), water and Cornish Sea Salt.  Made with a 55 year old rye starter. Naturally occurring yeast from the air and within the flour raises this loaf which is then made over three days to allow maximum flavour and fermentation. The bread is then proved in cane baskets to give it its distinctive shape.”

John moonlights as a baker – baking evenings and early mornings around a desk job in his domestic kitchen – but hopes to be able to give it up and launch an artisan bakery in Bristol over the next few months. (How amazing would this be, another independent bakery in Bristol!)

We used John’s sourdough to make toast to eat with the parfait and for the ricotta toast, mushroom and quail egg vegetarian starter.

Meanwhile I munched some in the kitchen to keep me going serving all the lovely food, with a nice layer of butter. YUM!

It is only really this year that I have really developed a passion for ‘real bread’ and I actually cannot go back to the bread I used to eat from the supermarket now.

The difference I notice physically is that real bread is really fresh the day you get it and gets progressively harder. After the first couple of days it is purely bread for toasting. But this is not a bad thing, it just makes me wonder what the hell goes into the bread I would normally buy that never goes hard, just mouldy.

The biggest difference is in the taste, and how filling real bread is. You only need one slice with your eggs in the morning, any more and you’ll struggle to eat it all!

 I always try to get some at the weekend, and when I do hardly ever eat lunch. Just a proper breakfast and dinner.

My local bakery is Mark’s Bread which I have mentioned many many times! They make about 10 different types of bread, plus croissants, Danish pastries and they have cakes too. They spent weeks perfecting their croissant, and really they could be French, again filling, real and fill you up. Sound like a croissant you can get in the supermarket? Nope!

Others to note in and around Bristol are Harts Bakery in Cotham, The Bertinet Kitchen in Bath and Hobbs House in Chipping Sodbury (available all over Bristol, I get mine at the Sourdough Cafe in St Nicks Market.

If you have more recommendations please let me know!

Try real bread and you won’t go back, I cannot bear to eat the plastic bread anymore.

I will be going to Johns kitchen bakery very soon and making some bread with him, bread that we can all make at home. Very excited about that blog post!

 

6 Responses to “Real Bread”

  1. Carla Swift Says:

    hurrah… we could do with another decent artisan baker in Bristol as everywhere I go seems to just sell on Hobbs or Herberts….do you know where John will open his bakery?
    Thanks

    • Sally Says:

      He is not sure yet, very much in the future right now… if you see any good site options let us know!


  2. Not to forget us! The Thoughtful Bread Company, based in Bath’s Green Park Station!
    Open tuesday to friday, 9am til 6pm and saturdays when the Bath Farmers’ Market is in full swing, from 8am til midday.
    We offer at least 10 different types of bread every single day along with a selection of savoury and sweet treats.

    Pop along and say hi!
    Duncan

    • Sally Says:

      Hi Duncan!

      My Mum works in Bath and has just told me all about you, then I see this.
      I will definately come and check you out soon!

      Sally


  3. […] my blog about Real Bread here with information on some local bakeries that are making proper […]


  4. […] Bread Company, based in Bath. My Mum works in Bath and has told me about them and as a big lover of real bread I wanted to try […]


Leave a Reply

