Smoked Haddock Fish Cakes

March 16, 2011

So another post, linking to yet another blog. I do read a lot of different blogs.

Eat Like a Girl is written by Niamh who is based in London and is a very accomplished blogger and chef, her blog is highly acclaimed and full of delicious recipes and comprehensive, very honest restaurant reviews. I love her recipes and although I am yet to cook many of them it is purely because I need to dedicate time to them.

She has a book coming out soon, Comfort and Spice. I will definitely be buying this.

They have a bit more detail than I am used to, and as you can see if you compare the below result with her fish cakes, I need to pay more attention next time, n my defense it was Friday, I had, had a couple of glasses of wine and I was exhausted.

So the below is what I made, you can compare with the original recipe and what I was supposed to make here

This makes 8 main size fishcakes.

You need;
400g undyed smoked haddock
900g (before cooking) mashed potato
1 litre of milk
3 bay leaves
3 spring onions/scallions
50g butter (optional – adds to the flavour but not essential)
a handful of flat leaf parsley, roughly chopped

1. You need to boil your potatoes, I always leave the skin on for those vitamins and because I like it but you can peel if you prefer. I can them to small chunks and boiled for 7-8 minutes.

2. Simmer the milk, add the bay leaves and the fish, lying flat if you can, making sure it is covered by the milk. Do not burn the milk, watch that temperature. This should pouch in about 10-15 minutes. When its finished, drain keeping the milk and flake the fish into the mash.

3. To your mashed potatoes add the  parsley, butter and spring onions. You can use with the poaching milk here if your mash needs it. Season and mix it up!

4. Shape into the size you can and fry in a hot pan with some olive oil to get a nice crispy skin on them.

I have no doubt if I had gone the extra mile and used Niamh’s full recipe they would have been even better, but I didn’t have any bread, and I forgot the onion… like I said it was Friday, it was late and I was tipsy!

So give my cheater version a go if you want something quick and super easy, but Niamh’s requires a little more effort for what I imagine is a better fish cake. I will try again soon, and make sure I have everything I need!

2 Responses to “Smoked Haddock Fish Cakes”

  1. Niamh Says:

    Nice work! :) Thanks for the kind words.


Leave a Reply

