Homemade Baked Beans

March 7, 2011

I know, I know baked beans are wonderful (I think so anyway) why make your own?

I did this after being very jealous of a tweet from Carla at Bribed with Food saying she had made a baked potato with homemade baked beans and smoked applewood cheddar. So I decided to copy her. I am still under the weather so with a night in and the house to myself figured I would make this, as it’s the ultimate comfort meal for me!

You need:
3 tbsp olive oil
1 red onion, sliced
1 large clove garlic, chopped
1 tsp smoked paprika
1/2 tsp ground cloves
3 heaped tbsp ketchup
1 tin chopped tomatoes
2 tins haricot beans
1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp brown sugar
sea salt and black pepper

1. Heat the oil in a saucepan, then add the onion and garlic and fry until soft and starting to caramelise, then add the cloves and cook for a further minute or two until you can smell the cloves. Then add the ketchup.
2. Add the chopped tomatoes and bring to the boil. Then add the beans, the Worcestershire sauce. Then add the smoked paprika and season with salt and pepper.

Easy! Also very tasty, and very healthy!

I cooked my baked potato for an hour in a very hot oven, and coated the skin with plenty of olive oil, seat salt and black pepper.

I shamelessly copied the rest of Carla’s meal too, right down to the applewood smoked cheddar and opening a bottle of red!

Thanks Carla, its was actually the best, and cheered me up no end! It’s amazing how much of a difference a good meal makes.

Leave a Reply

