Calamari…

January 24, 2011

In keeping with being more adventurous at home and after having been inspired by Eat Like A Girl making this last week I decided to try and make calamari at the weekend… here are Niamh’s recipes; Calamari with Blood Orange and Fennel and Calamari with Cous Cous

I am quite squeamish still about touching meat and even some fish so for me to make this made me very proud of myself.

You need;
1 squid, cleaning and cut into rings (I asked my fishmonger to do this)
1 egg, whisked together
flour, I used buckwheat flour with massive amounts of sea salt and cracked black pepper in it

It’s massively simple to make… I put my flour in a wide shallow bowl and the egg in another, first swish a squid ring around in the flour then the egg then in the flour again…

The I filled our wok with about 1/2 inch of vegetable oil and fried each side for 1 minute…

That really is it! I managed to touch squid for the first time and it was fine, although I did leave the tentacles for the Boy to cook later… I’m not quite there yet!

I made a lemon and black pepper mayo to serve and roasted some tomatoes for 20 minutes with olive oil, salt and pepper.

It was amazing… I am so making this all the time now!

Leave a Reply

