Pork Chops…

January 21, 2011

Something I want to do this year is get more adventurous with my cooking, and I am starting with cooking things I like to eat out but have not yet tried at home (as opposed to going straight in with things I have never eaten)

Pork chops might not seem adventurous but for me, its brave!

Recently I had a really lovely meal at the Glassboat of Pork Loin with vegetables and since then I have really want to eat more, it was so comforting and filling!

So for a perfect Friday night dinner I got some huge pork chops from Source

I had the perfect recipe from a Christmas present, the Boys sister had made me a recipe book with favourite family recipes and these are from the Boy’s Mum; her perfect Cider and Mustard Pork Chops…

You need;
For 4
4 pork chops
1/2 pint cider
10oz soft brown sugar
2 tbsp cooking oil
1 orange – zest and juice
white sauce
1 apple
1 tsb dried mustard

1. mix the sugar and mustard together and coat chops
2. heat the oil and brown chops on both sides (about 1-2 minutes each side) then pour off any running oil
3. zest the orange then squeeze the juice into the cider then make a roux using this instead of milk (I used 25g butter and roughly 65g flour, I did by eye)
4. add a few slim shreds of orange eel and pour sauce over chops and simmer for 10-15 minutes until cooked… be careful not to overcook as they may become dry… mine were huge thick pieces of meat and took just over 12 minutes

There is a lot of sauce at the start but the meat seems to soak it all up and become very tender and tasty…

I served with some pan-fried kale with garlic… (dry-fried for 3 minutes)

And mashed potato from 101 Cookbooks… but kept the kale separate…

A huge dinner that we ate before a movie night at home… amazing…

You could also try this with pork loins, which I think I will do next as I wasn’t keen on the amount of fat that come with chops.

Leave a Reply

