The way to a Man’s heart…

January 20, 2011

is through his stomach! Isn’t that what they say?

After Christmas I think Valentines is possibly my favourite holiday (much to the dismay of the Boy) you may have guessed as  such by now.

Last year I made heart shaped oat cakes and got a yummy heart shaped goats cheese from Trethowans Dairy… and we had a cheese feast…

Yes those really are heart shaped sparklers…

It made him laugh at least, and who doesn’t love cheese even if it is heart shaped…

To make these oatcakes…
You need;
250 g medium oatmeal or 250 g porridge oats
1 pinch salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 tablespoon lard, melted (or butter)
75 -200 ml hot water (which has been recently boiled)

Preheat oven to 200C/400°F. 

1. Put the oats, salt and baking soda in a bowl. 

2. Make a well, pour in the lard and stirring with a wooden spoon, add in enough of the hot water to make a stiff dough. If you’re using oatmeal, you should need about 75 ml; with porridge oats, you may need as much as 200 ml.

3. Knead it for a while to make it come smoothly together, then roll out as thinly as you can. and cut into triangles or rounds. 

4. Bake on an ungreased baking sheet for 15-20 minutes, or until the edges are turning golden-brown and the oatcakes themselves are firm (they’ll crisp up on cooling). Remove to a wire rack to cool.

These are so easy to make, you’ll never buy ready made again!

I know Valentines is a month away but I am a planner so am looking at things to do this year.

I would love to copy Cherry Menlove and make a hearty (ha! sorry) breakfast…

However it is on a Monday this year, I don’t know about you but I don’t think I could eat a big breakfast first thing on Monday before heading off to the office, so that’s out…

Personally I think Valentines should be all about Champagne, I have a  thing for bubbles (as in, any excuse to pop a cork)… Perrier-Jouet is my number one love. 

Again I must remember this is Monday, there’s nothing quite like a Champagne headache (on our first Valentines we drank 3 bottles!)… and Tuesdays are painful enough…

So I think maybe I will make some special cupcakes and coffee…

 If you have any recipes then let me know!

I am thinking these… from my hummingbird book, my colleagues may get the benefit too!

Another idea that is SUPER easy is to make some brownies…

And dust your love a little heart on top…

My brownie recipe is here. This time I just left out the cherries and chucked a load of giant chocolate buttons in.

Brownies are seriously easy, take maybe 30 minutes in total, you could even cut them into heart shapes… and serve them in this cute printable form Twig and Thistle

Sorry I am getting carried away with the hearts again… the thing is there would be lots of edges and cutting to eat… not a bad idea after all huh?

2 Responses to “The way to a Man’s heart…”

  1. Joanna Says:

    You make me wish I had a Valentine and a heart shaped egg mold :) x


Leave a Reply

