Goan Vegetable Curry…

January 12, 2011

This is a curry I eat a lot, it’s supposed to have fish in it but when I feel like I need to be healthy I use half fat coconut milk and fill it right up with vegetables and eat lots of small bowls with brown rice.

This recipe is adapted from a magazine I had years ago, I made it for the Boy years ago and have been making it ever since…

I apologise for not having exact measurements either, but I do this from memory and taste now… these are about right for about 4 large servings.

You need;
2 tsp black mustard seeds
2 tsp cumin seeds
1 tsp turmeric
2 red chillies
1 large red onion, thinly sliced
4 garlic cloves, finely chopped
6 tomatoes, chopped into tiny pieces
2 tins light coconut milk
1 medium sweet potato, chopped into bitesize chunks
8 new potatoes, chopped into same size as above
Peas (I use frozen), as many as you want

Before I cook the curry base to speed everything up I boil my potatoes in a pan and add them at the end.

First step is to pour a big gloup of oil into a big saucepan and heat gently before adding the mustard and coriander seeds and the turmeric and heat until they start to pop.

Then add the chillies and cook for a further two minutes, before adding the garlic and onions and cook gently until they become translucent, roughly 5 minutes.
Then add your chopped tomatoes.

Cook for a further 5 minutes before adding the coconut milk, stir and cook for 2 more minutes before adding your vegetables.

I love this curry, the only changes I have made are using light coconut milk, leaving out fish and fish stock and adding vegetables, and leaving the skins on the tomatoes. You can add whatever you like to it, it is amazing with fish too.

Serve with brown rice.

2 Responses to “Goan Vegetable Curry…”

  1. Nancy Says:

    This sounds lovely. Will definitely try it!


Leave a Reply

