Harvey Nichols, Bristol

January 11, 2011

This weekend we finally made a trip to the Harvey Nicks restaurant, I have wanted to go since forever but never managed to get round to it, the combination of eating in a gold dining room (love that!) and that the food has a great reputation pushed it to the top of my hit list…

After dark you enter through a side entrance, so you don’t have to be distracted by all the lovely shoes and clothes (damn!)

Another reason to go is the set menu, we had planned to splash out tonight but actually found that the set menu more appealing, and at £18 for three courses is an absolute bargain!

We were given an amazing amuse bouche, an artichoke velouté with truffle oil…

I have been wanting to try duck for a little while now, it’s something I never thought I would want to eat but reading a few duck recipes on various blogs has made me think about it a lot, so I thought this would be a chance for a taste before I try cooking it. 

We both went for the duck salad…

It was a great salad, the citrus and pomegranate were great with duck, fruit is I hear…

I also found out duck is very tasty indeed.

Just to show how times have changed the Boy then ordered the fish and I ordered more meat…

 He had salmon kedgeree, served with half an egg, I rarely criticise but that was a little silly, at least give the whole egg it’s not a huge dish, unless it was a presentation thing I do not understand this at all…

However I am advised it was a delicious meal and we ordered sides so it was not an issue.

I had Confit of guinea fowl, which was delicious… served with a parsnip mash and crisps…

For sides we had creamy Cavalo Nero (cream; great way to make vegetables unhealthy but even more tasty) with pancetta, and roasted Chantilly carrots with pumpkin seeds, I wasn’t sure about this at first but they go great together I will definitely be stealing that idea…

For dessert, again how things have changed I wanted nothing sweet…

The Boy ordered sticky toffee pudding, which was really light, so was a nice end to fill him up after two courses that were perfectly sized to leave for room for pudding!

And I moved to the a la carte for some cheese…

The blue was by far my favourite (which I think was the Dunsyre), so tangy!

The oatcakes were so thick that it was difficult to eat this delicately but they were so tasty I really didn’t care…

We washed this all down with Harvey Nicks Prosecco to start, and a Sancerre from 2009.

 I can’t share more than that as the Boy chose and I didn’t even get to see the list, and I had a very large glass of Harvey Nicks port to finish.

I definitely recommend the restaurant here, it feel very decadent eating in a gold room. The bar is great too and you almost don’t feel like you’re Bristol… I almost felt like I was back in Singapore or if the building was (much) higher New York… you have to use your imagination ut you know…

The food is great value, and so good and this week a new offer is starting, £19.50 for two people for three courses… ridiculous, so if you’re in Bristol go soon.

Leave a Reply

