Christmasy Things… decorating and Christmas cookies…

December 22, 2010

I love Christmas…

I love my new wreath…

With added fairy lights…

Mostly I love our tree… I like having a real tree, despite the needles, and I like having lots of mis-matched decorations… no stylised tree for me… I think they are for offices and shops, not my house… I like growing my collection of decorations each year…

I love my snowflake lights…

This year I have added the blue and white baubles which are from the Tate from my birthday visit… and the gingerbread man and toy soldier are from Georgia Brown on Park Row in Bristol I had previously banned myself from this shop but someone tweeted this little man and I had to have him!

The porcelain decorations are from a Christmas craft market, they are very delicate!

These lovely stockings are from White Company (who do amazing christmas decorations) were my secret santa gift at work, result!

Biggie the cat loves it too, he is very good though and doesn’t play with the decorations, he just looks…

I made a little pom pom garland too…

I also treated us to some lovely bunting from Toast… it goes well with our new picture and might well stay up all year round… we have one set each side…

I love the bunting so much and had so much card and paint left over from the Christmas cards I decided to make some more!

I also have some holly and random leaf garlands going up the stairs with red and green ribbon… love this!

And finally tissue paper pom poms!

I got instructions from Martha Stewart and the idea from a shop on Etsy, mine were not as perfect as them but they looked great above the dining table!

Anyway enough with the decorations… what you really want to hear is what I made to eat!

Here is a cute cookie recipe I got from another blog I love With Style and Grace, which I made as party favours for my guests… so I made the teeny so I got lots from the recipe!

You need;
1 cup shortening
1 cup sugar
1 3oz package of cream cheese
2 eggs
2 Tbsp grated orange peel
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups all purpose flour, sifted
1 tsp salt
1 cup chocolate pieces – Often times I just throw in the whole 11.5 oz bag of the semi-sweet chocolates.

Preheat oven 350 degrees. Cover baking sheet with parchment paper.

Using either a hand mixer or Kitchen Aid, cream shortening, sugar and cream cheese. Add eggs, one at a time, orange peel and vanilla. Mix well. In a separate bowl, sift flour and salt. Add flour mixture to the wet ingredients. Mix well. Carefully stir in chocolate pieces.

Using an ice cream scooper (or a spoon), drop one scoop at a time and place 2 inches apart on cookie sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let cool for about 5 minutes before removing from the pan. Enjoy!

I had to work out measurements using the internet as ‘cup’ is actually a measurement… so I think mine may have been a bit off as they turned out very soft, and I added more orange zest to the quantities so yours can be more orangey!


I gave these out as favours at my party…

And I put them under the tree for people to take home!

However once everyone was here I completely forgot they were there!! Only a few people got one, sorry party guests, the thought was there!


2 Responses to “Christmasy Things… decorating and Christmas cookies…”


  1. I hope you and your guests enjoyed the cookies! Thanks for sharing my recipe ~ Happy Holidays!

  2. Sally Says:

    Thank you, they loved them :D


Leave a Reply

