Shortbread with vanilla sugar…

December 6, 2010

One of my birthday gifts was a little book of easy to make treats (thanks to Sarah and Jim)…

and of course working in an office you have to provide treats on your birthday…

now with very little time to bake during my birthday week this book was great, and reminded me I had never actually made shortbread myself…

Who knows why, because it is super easy!

You need;
300g butter
140g caster sugar
300g plain flour
140g rice flour (two different flours is not necessary I am informed, Thanks Mairi! I think they suggested it because it is mega light and made for a light crumbly shortbread)

Place the butter and 140g sugar in a large mixing bowl and whizz using an electric whisk until smooth.
Tip in both the flours and a pinch of salt, then whizz until mixture comes together. (Mine looked like sand at this stage)

Spread the mixture out in a baking tray. I used a square cake tin and a round springform cake tin, both 23cm.
Cover with cling film and smooth over.
Place in the fridge, uncooked, for at least 30 mins.

Heat oven to 180C.
Remove cling film, then lightly mark the shortbread all over with a fork.

Sprinkle with the remaining sugar, then bake for 20-25 mins.

Leave to cool in the tin, slices.

This will keep for a week in a biscuit tin!

Mine came out quite thick, because of the tins I used… but it was a hit at work… so even though I had totally cheated by making something so easy (Another birthday boy the same week made his first victoria sponge, which was amazing and totally shamed me!) no one seemed to mind one little bit!

Leave a Reply

