Flinty Red…

November 30, 2010

Flinty Red is a newish addition to Cotham, an off shoot of Corks, and I couldn’t wait to visit.

Small ‘neighbourhood restaurants’ like this are up there in my favourite places to eat, normally cosy, with staff that care and delicious food they can be great experiences… this one is just that and I was lucky enough to have their tasting menu for a friends birthday.

Our first nibble was grilled (on charcoal) chorizo… it was great…

The anchovy toasts… these. were. so. good!

Ben is a fussy eater (a fact I did not know before this night) and didn’t think so which was great… more for us…

Then came the most beautiful buffalo mozzarella salad I have ever tasted… so soft and cloudy, with a crispy topping (ameretto biscuits) and great figs (I LOVE figs)…

Then some cured beef…

Tis is when a few people escaped outside to smoke and I really had to hold myself back from eating the whole plate, and in fact the reason I didn’t was that it was so good, the greatness when you want everyone to taste so you can share the joy…

Oay I am getting carried away, but seriously look at the colour… I think those are pickled walnuts… apologies but cannot remember for sure…

So as I said we had a tasting menu, we took over the restaurant and sat in groups on the tables and with for each course we had one plate to share and all just dived in to share, it was brilliant

Then came the ‘main’ courses…

First came the halloumi, which was quite strange in that it was crumbly rather than squeeky but I found out later this is because they made this themselves, very clever… served with cherry tomatoes and mint and basil…

Jakes wasn’t into it…

Then the fish course;  salmon with broccoli and Cavalo Nero with brown shrimps…

Ben wasn’t really into this either I think he has an issue with fish…

Then Quail with cherries… my first taste of quail, very nice…

We also got some lovely greens at this point… runner beans and more Cavalo Nero…

And a pasta course which I had completely forgotten and completely floored me… a mushroom ravioli…

And to finish, lamb, which I just couldn’t fit in my tummy, plus as I have talked about before I am new to eating meat and this was very fatty which I still cannot eat…

Everyone else adored it and I think this was the hit of the whole meal as it melted in the mouth… served with pine nuts and figs…

Unfortunately I had to dash after this so missed out on desserts, but no matter just an excuse to go back soon!

If you have not been already then go soon, they also do great tasting evenings.

3 Responses to “Flinty Red…”


  1. Oh my goodness, mozzarella+figs+amaretti cookies?? It could be a starter…or a dessert! Sounds to-die-for!


  2. […] will be the second time I have told you all to go to Flinty Red, but in case you missed my first recommendation here is another […]


Leave a Reply

