Thai in Brum…

August 19, 2010

Last weekend the Boy and I made a visit to some friends in Birmingham.

We had missed an important birthday so to make it up to them we said we would take them to a favourite restaurant of theirs… they picked a Thai a short walk through an amazing park from their house called Sabi Sabi in Moseley…

…apparently they have just extended the restaurant because they are so busy, it certainly was when we got there.
At 9.30 on a Saturday every table was taken with more people arriving or trying to get a table whilst we were sat, and was still pretty full when we left at 11…

I decided to share because it was so good, another great restaurant far away from me… added to the rubbish fact that there are no great Thai’s in Bristol

I really loved their bamboo cutlery, standard in a Thai I know but these were beautiful heavy ones… It was everything I could do to stop myself from slipping one into my bag (joke!)

And we got a wine from New Zealand as there weren’t any Thai options other than beer… New Zealand Sauvignon… one of my all time favourites and always a good option…

Then whilst we nibbled on crackers took about 30 minutes to decide on food, the menu was huge and amazing…

 We went for the sharing platter… it was huge, more than enough for us all, and was lots of little snacky bits… This way we all got to try something but not fill up so we could go in on the mains.

We got chicken satay, prawns, fishcakes, some dipping vegetable parcels and a very pretty colourful salad…

This came with some really good dipping sauces; the usual sweet chilli, a honey-like dip plus a satay peanut sauce…

Nom nom!

At this point we still hadn’t ordered our mains, all I knew was I did not like the name of this steak dish…

In the end I chose the fish of the day which sounded yummy and was really amazing, and huge!

 Someone had to have Pad Thai… if this was good then you know it’s a great Thai…

It was by the way, she gets it every time!

The rice came on plates like Lotus leaves…

And steamed in baskets…

 

The Boy ordered beef Geng Massaman, which I had never tried before so we decided to share our meals as I did get two whole fishes.

I really liked this dish, although a lot heavier than I normally think of Thai as it was amazing and I really enjoyed it, the beef was really good. It very much like the Thai version of the Gambia dish Domoda I posted at the beginning of the month as it’s a peanut sauce… this explains why I liked it so much!

The boys drank Thai Chang beer…

And again it’s the little things I notice… I like the woven bill trays…

So a recommendation for Birmingham if you ever find yourself in Moseley head to Sabi Sabi… and you can also admire the unusual mural by the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

