Gambian Garden Party and Domoda…

August 3, 2010

I have spent a lot of time in Gambia, firstly visiting with my school, then again in my gap year working in a pre-school then again to visit my adopted family. I haven’t been back for a while and I am desperate to, last Sunday I got the next best thing in that I got to eat Domoda, which is a thick curry made with peanuts. It was my favourite meal and one I requested at my leaving party… I really need to make it but am afraid it won’t live up to memory!

The garden party was to raise money for a charity through a group set up at Bath College, I went as my Mum works at the college…

it was held in the cutest village just outside Bath called Bathford… they have their own community shop which is in the old pub…

This is my dream village, lots of people take turns running the shop, each person probably working 1 day a month, so lovely!

The cottages are the cutest as well…

The party was in the garden of a huge Bath stone family house…

with a lovely garden shaded by huge willow trees… we had Gambian music from a real Griot (a storyteller)

and of course Gambia food…

I ate some rice with beef, which I never ate much I stayed with a family and we were right by the sea, I ate fresh fish almost every day with chicken as a huge treat as meat is very expensive for ordinary people… and some domoda, which was very good!

Here is a recipe, give it a go with some fish and vegetables and plain rice, you can make it as spicy as you like it, everyone has different interpretations, I have eaten so many different versions but the one made by my adopted family in the compound from scratch including homemade peanut butter was by far the best…

You need;
groundnut (peanut) oil
1lb chicken (I would use fish!)
1 large onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
a few tomatoes/chopped tinned tomatoes/tomato paste (I would recommend a combination)
stock
squash/aubergine/cassava/potato
one hot chilli pepper, chopped
1/2 cups peanut butter
seat salt
black pepper
cayenne pepper

1. Heat the oil in a large pan, and brown the meat and onions

2. Add all ingredients, except the peanut butter and add enough stock to cover all then bring to the boil. Take down to simmer and cook for about 20 minutes until the meat is cooked. If using fish add after you have combined everything and cook until the fish is cooked

3. Stir in the peanut butter, and continue to simmer for another 10 minutes stirring frequently, adjust the seasoning to taste

Serve with boiled rice

This is the basic instructions as told to me and adjusted a little, you will need to use your eye and head for quantities and as it’s a curry you can have as much or as little as you want in that sauce.

One Response to “Gambian Garden Party and Domoda…”


  1. […] and I really enjoyed it, the beef was really good. It very much like the Thai version of the Gambia dish Domoda I posted at the beginning of the month as it’s a peanut sauce… this explains […]


Leave a Reply

