The Glassboat… A Bristol (breakfast) Instituion

July 15, 2010

Last Sunday for catch up brunch with friends we decided to treat ourselves to a visit to the Glassboat, this was also because they were holding a Summer Fayre on the street outside the restaurant (more on this tomorrow!)…

I have visited the Glassboat for breakfast, lunch and dinner and they are all yummy, amazing, wonderful… I cannot wait to go back for dinner, the restaurant is so pretty when candlelit and you have a beautiful river view.

The restaurant had hit a very special birthday, 25 years and as part of their celebrations they have an exhibition in their private dining room, we were met by the handyman who told us a little of the boats history…

About how it was a wreck when it was bought to Bristol… just the bottom of a boat…

He also told us how original the boat was supposed to be a floating garden centre! However the city council had other ideas and suggested to the owner (who had restaurant experience) that they turn it into a restaurant and have a city centre spot… they haven’t looked back since!

The boat has recently been refurnished again, and now has a bigger restaurant space, with floor to ceiling windows, a bar/lounge area, and a separate private dining area downstairs.

You can read the history here

Back to the breakfast… it was amazing, and not much more expensive than you would pay for a decent breakfast anywhere…

We had the pick of tables so picked one next to the open windows with views up and down the river…

You always see lots sitting on the river… we saw lots of boats, a gentleman’s rowing club and what looked like a great kids party (complete with bunting)…

I loved their new personalised china (well new since I had last visited)…

The Boy went for a Bloody Mary (you could also opt for a Bloody Shame the non-alcoholic version, very funny!), it was a great one, among so many bad Bloody Mary’s this gave the Glassboat big approval from him…

Then came the breakfast… best I have had out, in a long time… not too big either which is always nice as sometimes my eyes are too big for my tummy!

And the Boy would not let up about how good he thought it was especially the home-made black pudding… I have a feeling we will be back soon…

Our friends went for the Smoked Salmon muffins and also proclaimed them delicious… the salmon was an amazing shade of pink…

The restaurant is light and airy thanks to the huge windows…

I was gutted I was so full as they had lots of treats on the counter…

And I have to add (I’m sorry I know it’s only July) that I just LOVE their Christmas Menu… outside and in!

Just to give you a flavour I will be ordering (Am so pushing for our Christmas dinner to be here)…
Onion and sweet cider soup
Game pie with thyme and garlic mash
and lemon posset, my absolute favourite dessert… no brainer.

I hope to go for dinner soon, which I am sure will result in another post…

One Response to “The Glassboat… A Bristol (breakfast) Instituion”


  1. That looks such an amazing place to eat. Now I really want to visit Bristol.


Leave a Reply

