Garden, Steak and Bristol…

June 29, 2010

So the Boy and I have been sorting our garden, we have a terraced house so have a smallish shady spot, half-decked and now since the Boy laid it half lovely green grass…
I cannot wait till we are finished and we can sit and eat outside!

I also cannot wait to have things growing, to make my own pudding with fruit we have grown will be amazing.

So last week we paid yet another visit to the garden centre where we purchased a ton of berry plants as well as peppers, chillies and tomatoes…

Strawberries! Not many of these will make it into a recipe, they will probably be nibbled whilst sitting on the grass…

Plus another of compost (we seem to be going through a lot of this!) and some flowers…

Plus the Boy bought me this beautiful rose-bush… the roses are huge and pink and so so pretty!

And this could be the most perfect rose I have ever seen in my whole life…

So the Boy got busy planting and for a reward we had a steak dinner…

I kept it simple so there is no recipe as such in this post…

I pan-fried the steak, mine was medium rare and the Boy’s as rare as I could make it!

I also made sweet potato chips and a simple green salad with tomatoes and avocado…

To make these I used 1 large sweet potato, chopped into chunky chips roasted in olive oil, dried chilli flakes and paprika in the oven for about 30 minutes at about 180c…
if you use very little oil these are very healthy…

And to serve with the steak I made some lemon and black pepper creme fraiche, I wanted something light and fresh as it was such a hot evening but am still very new to eating red meat so needed something…

Just literally mix lemon zest from 1 lemon, half a lemon’s juice and as much black pepper as you like with two or three tbsp of half fat creme fraiche, it was yummy with both the steak and the chips… and much healthier than mayo…

The steaks were a purchase from the farmers market that day…

There are lots of farmers markets in Bristol and I am lucky to have one near where I work on Wednesdays, so as often as possible I pay it a visit and make a treat dinner…

They looked quite small when I bought them but they were not!

After what was a huge very filling meal on a beautiful evening we decided to go for a long walk and I just wanted to share some of the photographs I took, they are so Bristol they could be postcards… I had to share.

We stopped off at The Cottage, one of the greatest views a pub could have…

As we watched, the Matthew sailed past…

Then there were balloons, I have never taken a photograph that is more Bristol than this one, with the balloon and the colourful houses…

Then we walked back through the harbours, admiring all the boats…

Back home past the Ostrich (another gem in the sunshine)…

There were so many vapour trails in the sky, and although they are bad, they were very pretty that night…

And back south of the river…

One Response to “Garden, Steak and Bristol…”

  1. Lesley Hall Says:

    Amazing photos, you should be paid by Bristol tourism people! Can’t wait to see the garden.


Leave a Reply

