Edinburgh Trip – Thai food and The Castle

June 22, 2010

On our very first morning in Edinburgh (our flight got in at 8.30) we decided to hit the castle before all the tourists arrived.
It was still quite busy but as we left was getting rammed so we were very glad we went when we did as it was a hot hot day… you can still see the morning haze.

Once inside the castle there’s a whole mini town going on…

The Queen’s Residence…

This HUGE fireplace was  in the Great Hall where Royal Banquets are still held…

We had already grabbed breakfast but I highly recommend at least having a coffee in the cafe, especially if it rains and you can’t enjoy the views from outside as they are spectacular…

These guys were everywhere, I liked it, I love bagpipes!

Going early really paid off when a German tourist group gave us 2 tickets to get in as they had extra, it’s quite expensive to get in so we spend the money we saved on cheesy tourist photos of us.

So the day was beautiful, hot and sunny, then we went back to the hotel to change for dinner and the heavens opened and the streets were flooded, it did not stop raining the rest of our time there!

Edinburgh is full of Thai restaurants, I am so jealous at the sheer number of them, I think Bristol has 4 and none of them are amazing. We went to Dusit, one the Boy had visited before and it is worth the trip if you make it to Edinburgh.

The menu was huge, and they had a floating market menu…

The napkins were all starched and folded beautifully (it’s the silly things I remember) and the service was very Thai, in the end we had to tell them we were fine and to leave us they were so attentive.

One of my absolute favourite wines on the list…

So as I said the menu was huge and it was hard to choose, but in the end I opted for a salad then seafood, being so close to the sea you must try to visit a seafood restaurant when you are in Edinburgh, we didn’t get the chance in the end. No matter though it’s just an excuse to go again…

I loved the names of their salads…

I had a Beautiful girl…

We both somehow resisting going for Pad Thai, a favourite at home for food we cannot cook ourselves, my dish was full of scallops, squid, prawns and a huge piece of monkfish, I also treated myself to coconut rice…

After all this food I was as full as an egg! But since the Boy cannot say no to Sticky Rice and they had coconut ice cream on the menu how could I not? I love anything with coconut in…

I also added some mango sorbet… it was so worth the ‘i can’t move’ feeling that soon came…

And anyway we had a long walk back to our hotel to walk it off!

Leave a Reply

