Edinburgh Trip – The Hotel

June 21, 2010

So last weekend the Boy and I took a mini-break to Edinburgh, with no holiday in sight it was a much needed break…

It is such a beautiful city, having been spared bombings during the war all the oldest buildings still stand, the streets are so wide and on the day we arrived the sun was shining. I felt like I was in a real European City…

I am sure many of you have heard of the chain Hotel du Vin, it’s a boutique chain of small hotels across the UK, one we are lucky to have I think.
I normally hate chains and anything samey however sometimes it’s nice to know for sure when you are going away that your hotel will be lovely…

Their look is very classic, muted tones but each hotel has its own accent.
I think Edinburgh is definitely one of the nicest I have stayed at, not just because it is fairly new (opened in 2008) but also it’s position in the city and the lovely staff.

You walk in through a courtyard…

That had its very own Cigar Bothy…

And in reception the wine glass chandelier that are in all of the Hotels…

And this one, being in Scotland had a special room for Whisky tastings…

With a huge choice of cigars and whisky…

All the rooms are named after a bottle of something…

The fun touch in the bigger rooms is a bath and a monsoon shower in the room…

And the biggest comfiest beds ever…

The mini bar is well stocked…

On our last night in Edinburgh we ate in the hotel restaurant, it has a French vibe and the menu here was French with English and Scottish twists…

I love that the bathrooms were not ladies and gentlemen but lads and lassies…

We almost always fill up on bread here, they serve it whilst still warm with a huge pat of butter or olive oil…

We had some help from the Sommelier to pick this Rioja, which was yummy… we even managed a second bottle which does not happen very often with red wine…

I had a blue cheese salad…

It was so good and I was really enjoying it until I had a bite of the Boy’s beer soaked ribs and became very jealous.
They were amazing, the meat fell off the bone and melted in your mouth and the homemade coleslaw was good too… I messed up on the starter!

Then I ordered my very first steak! I used to be a vegetarian, and although I haven’t been for years I have had to work my way up to being okay about eating what I call ‘proper meat’…
It was so good, I do think I should have been a bit brave and had it medium rare rather than medium cooked, I think I could have handled it…

I love the cute saucepans they put your chosen sauce in (béarnaise)…

The desserts sounded really interesting but I have to say the cheese was calling…

Normally at Hotel du Vin they bring a huge trolley loaded with cheese and somehow you have to whittle it down to 5, however tonight they were a little low on choice so just put together a plate for us which after eating almost a whole steak I was glad about, I was in no fit state to make important decisions.

We had a little pick me up in the form of an espresso martini and daiquiri’s and then decided to eat it in our room so had a cheese picnic on the bed in front of a movie…

So good! I love a cheese induced comasleep, my dreams are always so vivid and colourful.

A huge thumbs up from me for Hotel du Vin, as always a perfect stay!

p.s. join their mailing list, they have great deals for dinner and a room and with another great Hotel in Cheltenham you could have a little trip without having to go too far, there are also dinner deals and one in Bristol in an old Sugar warehouse!

Leave a Reply

