Day at Court

June 11, 2010

On Sunday I was lucky enough to be taken to the Stables Bistro at Ashton Court by my Mum… I have wanted to go for ages and we were fortunate enough to go on one of the sunniest days we have had in a long time, the estate is beautiful at any time but when sunny makes me love where I live even more!

The view as you arrive is stunning…

The estate is huge and centres around the main house which has an event space, there was a wedding here today (what a perfect day!), there is also a cafe serving snacks and light lunches, a farm shop, a gift shop and visitor centre plus the bistro

The menu is a blackboard brought to your table, we were spoilt for choice, although on such a hot day I ruled out a roast immediately

I ordered Seabass, which came with a herby butter, tiger prawns, squid, asparagus, new potatoes and a salad which was dressed with a really good vinaigrette

My Mum is a vegetarian so ordered the mushroom and asparagus risotto, which looked amazing, we identified several different mushrooms, they had really gone the extra mile with this. So often is risotto is the standard rubbish vegetarian option that I think people tire of it but this one truly stood out… lots of parmesan too

We had to resist licking our plates

We were seated below this spooky picture of a little girl

The only pudding that we felt was ‘summer’ enough was pavola, which came as a deconstructed version, my only complaint is that the meringue was quite tough but I persevered and it was worth it

Yes, the pile underneath is cream (!)

The Stables Bistro is so called because, you guess it, you sit within the old stables

They are quite special stables, with big ornate gates for each one

After lunch it was time to shop… the gift shop has so many cute things I want to buy…

This very cute butter dish, mine is a rectangle shape so no harm in getting a round one to cover all bases right?

This plate for egg and soldiers makes me want to eat egg and soldiers again (Is 26 too old?)

They also sell Forest of Avon products, which are just beautiful…

The shop display shelves are even made by them

Take a look at their website, they can also be commissioned for furniture and even kitchens (dream!) I have my eye on a bench for the garden, there is a lovely one in the shop

Even the displays in the shop are cute, I had to stop myself my buying this whole table of decorations

I did however buy myself this very cute sauce pot, I cannot wait to use it… it might be time for a sunday roast so I can fill it with horseradish cream

I had to include some more photographs of the gardens and the house as it was such an amazing day, we didn’t go on a big walk into the estate it was too hot!

The view of Bristol

Views across country

The beautiful house (with a wedding party in front, you can get married here)

Secret gardens, perfect for romantic picnics

I love a tree lined avenue

Another gate tucked away, all the stonework was so perfect, I think it may have all been cleaned recently

Leave a Reply

